Announcing our First Cohort of the Tech Policy Primer Program

40 technologists learned the basics of the policy process in our online, part-time primer program

San Francisco, CA, April 21, 2022 — The Aspen Tech Policy Hub is thrilled to announce the Winter 2022 cohort of the Tech Policy Primer Program. The Tech Policy Primer is our new virtual and part-time program teaching the policy process to experienced technologists. Participants first engaged in several weeks of policy training before producing final projects to solve real-world problems for government stakeholders. The Primer has a similar curriculum to our full-time Fellowship, but allows us to train many more technologists due to its virtual, part-time format.

Our 40 scholars hold vast experience in digital innovation as artificial intelligence experts, product managers, entrepreneurs, and data scientists.

The Winter 2022 Tech Policy Program participants are:

  • Yemi Adewumni, Co-Founder of Civic Eagle
  • Ehrik Aldana, Co-Founder of AI Education Project
  • Ahmed Amer, Associate Professor of Computer Science & Engineering at Santa Clara University
  • Aurelia Attal-Juncqua, Program Officer on the Board on Health Sciences Policy at the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
  • Camille Carlton, Communications Manager at the Center for Humane Technology
  • Shelley Chan, Product Manager at REPLICA
  • Di Cooke, Research Analyst at Centre for the Study of Existential Risk at the University of Cambridge
  • Jessica Davies, Researcher and Technology Consultant
  • Nichole Dennis, Program Director and Government Relations Specialist at the Cybercrime Support Network
  • Craig Dermody, COVID-19 Data Specialist for the City of San Francisco
  • Lisa Einstein, Graduate Researcher at Stanford Internet Observatory
  • Lakshmi Gopal, Founder of Muciri Law
  • Harry Arjun Hassard, Head of Product at NuCypher
  • Krystal Jackson, Information Security, Policy, and Management Master’s Student at Carnegie Mellon University
  • Max Katz, Solutions Architect at NVIDIA
  • Shayna Korol, Reporter at BioNews Services
  • Alex Lee, Product Manager at Strivr
  • Jessica Lee, Founder of Increment
  • Rob Lever, Journalist at Agence France-Presse
  • Nancy Mandujano, Software Engineer at Stanford University’s Computational Policy Lab
  • Michael Masuda, Program Analyst at the Office of the Science and Technology Advisor to the Secretary at the US Department of State
  • Félim McMahon, Founding Member of Storyful
  • Mayank Mishra, Co-Founder of Televeda
  • Justino Mora, Senior Software Developer at RAICES
  • Chizobam Nwagwu, Former Product Management Fellow at the Department of Health and Human Services
  • Matt O’Shaughnessy, Machine Learning Algorithm Developer at Georgia Tech
  • Stephanie Pakrul, Web Entrepreneur
  • Julia Pan, Senior Associate of Product at Dcode
  • Bryce Pedroza, Subject Matter Specialist at Axonius
  • Hadrien Pouget, Technology Policy Master’s Student at the University of Cambridge
  • Jordan Ross, Product Manager at Google Ads Privacy and Safety
  • Siddarth Srinivasan, Computer Science PhD Student at the University of Washington
  • Chris Torres, Product Technology Manager at Google Travel
  • Andre Uhl, Technology and Innovation Fellow at the Planetary Health Alliance
  • Julia Uhr, XR Developer and PhD Student at CU Boulder’s ATLAS Institute
  • Ritvik Vasudevan, Product Manager at Flatiron Health
  • Nina Vyedin, Engineering Manager at Own Up
  • Katarina Watney, Project Lead at CRDF Global
  • Tafari Wilson, IT Project Manager for the Social Security Administration
  • Michael Yang, Open Philanthropy Technology Policy Fellow

For more information about the Tech Policy Primer Program and participants, see here.